It's almost time for one of the loudest American holidays, the Fourth of July. Outside of Halloween, it was my favorite holiday as a kid.

Get our free mobile app

I still like the Fourth of July, but as a parent with little ones, I can appreciate the rules and restrictions that come with the celebration.

When can I start shooting off fireworks in Great Falls?

Well, that depends honestly on where you are shooting off your fireworks, whether in the city or surrounding areas.

There are different rules for both selling and discharging fireworks when it comes to Cascade County and the City of Great Falls. Keep reading!

An American flag in the background with fireworks exploding in front
Canva
loading...

The rules about fireworks in Cascade County, Montana

When it comes to the rules and regulations surrounding fireworks in Cascade County, they are a bit more relaxed. Firework stands can begin selling fireworks on June 24th and then sell through July 5th.

What you should know about fireworks in the city of Great Falls, Montana

When it comes to buying and selling fireworks in the city limits, stands can start on July 2nd and sell through July 4th.

That is also the time when you can shoot off your fireworks legally within the city limits as well. You're allowed to do so on those days, but ONLY from 8 am until Midnight.

There are a few other rules to know when it comes to the Fourth of July celebrations in Montana

Fireworks display with a silhouette of a man holding a sparkler
Canva
loading...

Children under the age of 10 need to have an adult supervising them at all times.

Fireworks can only be discharged on private property, not on publicly owned areas such as parks, streets, cul-de-sacs, public sidewalks, public-right-of-ways, or any publicly owned parking lot/parking space or alley.

And finally, remember to clean up after your display. I suggest having a 5-gallon bucket of water and placing the used fireworks in it to ensure they are no longer smoldering.

Can I get fined for shooting off fireworks illegally in Great Falls?

Yes, there are fines and they aren't cheap.

  • 1st Offense - $100
  • 2nd Offense - $200
  • 3rd Offense - $300
  • 4th Offense - $1000

So keep this in mind come this Fourth of July and we'll make sure everyone has fun!

LOOK: 15 Important Fireworks Safety Tips

Don't become the story. To make sure your 4th of July celebration goes as smoothly and safe as possible, here are 15 fireworks safety tips from the National Safety Council. Look out for yourself and your friends and family this Fourth!

KEEP READING: 7 Ways to Celebrate the 4th of July Without Fireworks

LOOK: Simple ways to help your pets cope during fireworks

Some easy, but important tips that can help keep your pets from getting too anxious during fireworks.

More From KMON Country 560 AM